Dear Baby Karl’s Mom

Dear Baby Karl’s Mom,

I think about Karl all of the time. I thought about him the day I heard about his tragic death. Before I even knew his name. And I think of him today. And mostly everyday. Especially the days I drop my baby off at daycare. Before I even read your story, I put myself in your shoes countless times. I still do.

See, I too had a baby in 2015. Also a baby boy. And I too, went back to work far before I felt I or my baby were ready. I too laid in bed with my baby and husband that first morning of daycare, getting in our last hugs and cuddles and smiles before I had to leave him. I too showed up to our first day of daycare to jokes about being a first time mom leaving her child and how everything was going to be just fine.

The difference is, when I went back at 12:30 to pick him up, I didn’t arrive to someone doing CPR on him (incorrectly). I didn’t arrive to an ambulance or paramedics. I put my baby to sleep that night in his crib. You put yours to rest forever.

But that could have been me. That could have been my baby. His name is Colin.

I think about you a lot. What you must be going through. I can’t even imagine. I think about what ifs. What if we, as a nation, valued our moms more. What if you didn’t have to leave him so soon. I think we both know the answer to these questions.

And finally, I think about the future Baby Karls and how we can save them. As I see you and your partner have done with http://forkarl.com/

What else can we do? Changing our nations perception and valuation of motherhood and paid leave seems like a daunting task. But it’s one I’m willing to fight for. It’s time for America to #LeadonLeave

 

Leave a Reply

