New Name, Same Blog: New England Family

Where we live plays a big part in who we are, what inspires us and who we become. When I started this blog, I lived in the Charlestown Navy Yard, on the Boston harbor overlooking the city. What a view.

boston harbor

It is and always will be one of my most favorite places on this earth. It will always hold a place in my heart as it continues to inspire me to this day.
But….I’m sure you assumed there was a but coming. I haven’t lived there for four years (as of this month!) and as a new mom, I am in a completely different place in my life than I was as a young woman in my early 20s in the Boston. My new home is just as wonderful and just as inspiring as the navy yard, maybe even more so. It’s southeastern CT and it is where I am raising my sweet little family. I wanted a name that would reflect where I was and where I am, where I am going without completely leaving the Navy Yard behind.
I considered making it just about my family…”dime a dozen Donovans” has a nice ring to it, but it left something out. I haven’t really been sure what I want this blog to be. I have a separate food blog that will remain separate as it had become my little online working cook book!

So this blog…(whenever I get the chance to post) I put A LOT of my photography on here, but I also sprinkle in fun family posts, travel, some DIY and other miscellaneous things. It’s really a personal lifestyle blog and New England plays a huge part in my personal lifestyle.
They say home is where the heart is. If that’s true, there’s a piece of my heart in Massachusetts (where I lived and where my sister lives still), Connecticut (where I currently live) and Vermont (where we spend our winters skiing…and soon to come, Maple Sugaring!). In short, I’m a New England gal. I may have grown up in CNY but New England is where my heart is. The place that has made me who I am now and the place that inspires me.


From coastal towns, to quaint main streets, magnificent autumn colors, stone walls, white picket fences, ski resorts, maple sugaring farms, not to mention friendly people, all of New England is home for my family! I hope everyone enjoys the new phase of my blog: New England Family.

Leave a Reply

