Casa del Prado

I don’t always get around to submitting a photo for the WordPress weekly photo challenge, but I was particularly excited about this week’s theme, Ornate, as last week in a San Diego I snapped a shot of the beautifully detailed entrance to Casa del Prado at Balboa Park.

Casa del Prado, Balboa Park, San Diego, CA

image

Looking over my pictures for the day, this one kept stopping me so I looked into the history of its style. Here is what I learned:

The Casa del Prado Theater features Churrigueresque ornamentation framing the entrance.
What is Churrigueresque? It’s a Spanish Baroque style of elaborate sculptural architectural ornament, marked by extreme, expressive and florid decorative detailing, normally found above the entrance on the main facade of a building, like the Casa del Prado!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

