Cover Art: Coastal Living

The weekly photo challenge this week was “Cover Art.”

Abbey Road. American Beauty. Steve McCurry’s “Afghan Girl.” A General Theory of Love. These are just a few famous examples of cover art that uses photography to convey a mood and to suggest what we might find in the work itself. They have a quality that echoes a particular character of their respective subject matter, an essence that words fail to capture with simplicity…

For this week’s Photo Challenge, I chose one of my favorite photos from this Summer:

sunset

I captured this on a sunset boat ride to Stonington, CT for dinner. We had just slowed down the boat as we were about to dock at Swooners so I had the perfect opportunity to snap a few photos. It was one of my favorite nights of the Summer. On the boat ride home, I wrapped myself in a blanket and took in the beauty of the night sky reflecting off of Long Island Sound.  I could just imagine this photo on the cover of a Coastal Living type magazine, invoking feelings of warm summer nights heavy with fresh salt air!

Check out what others did with this theme: Cover Art

2 comments

Leave a Reply

