Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

20120805-115301.jpg

Bamboo is said to be one of the fastest-growing plants on Earth with reported growth rates of 100 cm (39 in) in 24 hours.

These bamboo sprouts started poking out in my yard and within a week – two at most – I went to look at them again, but couldn’t find them. I was looking for these 2 foot sprouts and they had grown taller than me! They are now AT LEAST 20 feet tall and new ones are coming up all of the time. I am sure that if I sat there long enough, I could watch them grow! I have heard that in some areas, you can actually hear bamboo growing!

2 comments

  1. I think we got the runt of the litter (can you call bamboo a litter??). Our bamboo has been there for about 5 years, and it’s just now starting to look like bamboo. It has a little more of a challenge now to blend in with the weeds on the bank. But then, down the road from us is almost a bamboo forest at a neighbor’s house. Oh well – love your photo here!!

    • That is so funny – I know someone who lives in the Berkshires in MA who has been trying to grow bamboo for years without success.. We gave him one of our sprouts and I think he is finally having some luck! One of my neighbors planted them a few years ago and they are actually taking over the neighborhood. We are going to have to do something before they invade our entire lawn in a few years! Apparently we have running bamboo, but there is a non-invasive ‘clumping’ type. Do you know what type you have?! This article about it is interesting: http://www.organicgardening.com/learn-and-grow/non-invasive-bamboo

      Thank you for the compliment on my photo 🙂

Leave a Reply

